1. This forum is in read-only mode.

New to emulation; where do I begin?

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Jaythelord, Jul 6, 2015.

1. Jaythelord

Jaythelord New Member

I'm very new to emulation. I just downloaded Dolphin and now I'm trying to figure out what to do next. Is there anywhere I can download the Xenoblade Chronicles ISO? The stupid point wall thing here is annoying me since it'll take forever to get enough points to download the ISO, and I can't buy Premium since that option is down for me right now. I recently ordered Xenoblade Chronicles 3D but failed to realize that you need the NEW 3DS to play it, so I've decided to emulate the original game. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

2. Loonylion

Loonylion Administrator Staff Member

we don't allow discussion of other romsites that provide the same content as us.

Your first stop should be the Dolphin wiki. This will tell you how playable your chosen game is and what, if any, special settings are needed within Dolphin to play this specific game. (different games require different settings). Be aware that emulation is very CPU heavy, so if you have a weak CPU and/or intel integrated graphics, you may find it doesn't run very well.

Once you've downloaded and extracted the ISO, open it in dolphin, and it will appear in the list. Make any necessary changes to the settings, and double click the game in the list to start it.

if you intend to play more than one game, it might be worth making a note of what the default settings in Dolphin are. This is because their wiki only lists settings that need to be changed from default, and there is no 'return to defaults' button within Dolphin, so after the settings have been changed a couple of times you have no idea what the defaults are.

3. Blazemax

Blazemax Well-Known Member