1. This forum is in read-only mode.

30-something Veteran retro-Gamer - Wonderful site, congratulations !

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by cmdrfan, May 16, 2016.

1. cmdrfan

cmdrfan New Member

Hello fellow members !

I'm a 30-something seasoned retro-gamer. Well, more of a veteran gamer who turned "retro" with the passage of time.

Since I'm one of those people who cherish old-school gaming and dislike "progress" when it means things like the Xbox (orig., 360 and 1) , PS2-3-4, and all their HD-photorealistic bloated crapware, or MMORPG's, or Casual gaming (candy crush, etc...) , sites likes these are an absolute joy.

As far as systems are concerned, I do my gaming mostly on emulators on various platforms : an old Lenovo 3000 with win-7, a chinese WonderMedia-8850 Android tablet and a Nintendo Wii, the only "modern" console I like. And I like it precisely because it's old-school look-and-feel and software library.

Being a working professional, I appreciate sites which are managed seriously by their administrators and taken seriously by their members, so don't expect off-topic chitchat from me and be sure that i'll use bandwith responsibly and fight trolls, adware and malware.

Maybe because of my age, I love nostalgia and history-related content and threads and feel very confident posting about mid-1980's to mid-1990's titles, my "area-of-expertise". This means I'm also pretty competent in period-hardware emulation (on Windows, Android and Wii) : VICE, UAE, Gens, MAME, Fusion, Frodo, FCEU, Snes-GX, DOSbox (power user!), GenesisPlusGX, AppleWin, MiniVmac, BasiliskII, NullDC, ActiveGS, OpenBOR, ZXspin, ScummVM , ......

I'm also a member of other similar sites, specially Emuparadise and TheOldComputer which I consider the most mature ones. Romulation has so far impressed me and, in my opinion, will be even better when it adds more "content-beyond-roms", like the two I mentioned do.

Nice to meet you all !

CMDRFAN , as in "Commodore Fan" !!!!