1. This forum is in read-only mode.

iDeaS crashes instantly upon launch

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by Jo2000, Oct 26, 2017.

1. Jo2000

Jo2000 New Member

Haven't seen anyone having the same issue. sorry if it is a common problem with an easy solution, but by just searching the internet I didn't find any help.
    I downloaded iDeaS from different sources (here and Emuparadise) with the same result: I double click the application, the two familiar windows for the two screens pop up, but quickly followed by the standard crash message.
    Since I'm not very good with 'in-depth PC usage' it might be something pretty obvious I'm doing wrong, so please tell me about everything I could be doing wrong!
    Thanks in advance

2. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member

You might be missing the Visual C++ runtime. Better get DeSmuMe or No$GBA, if you want to play nds rom. Easy to locate via Google.

3. Neon32

Neon32 Neo-Noir

iDeaS is a pretty old emulator with no current development going on. So as Prectorian said use the DeSmuME emulator .
    you can get it here : http://desmume.org/download/

4. Jo2000

Jo2000 New Member

I have DeSmuMe, used it a lot already. I just heard that iDeaS works as a 2ds emulator aswell, and I would like to use that to run my 3ds roms on it. (I tried citra but most of the games just run at super low speed, and due to the 3d feature being the main reason for that and I don't need that feature, switching over to a 2ds emulator was just a logical inference.)
    And thanks for your advice regarding visual C++ runtime. I couldn't find it on my PC, so I went to download it. However after downloading the latest version and installing it, the issue hasn't changed, iDeaS still crashes instantly...

5. Prectorian

Prectorian . Staff Member